Writing Exercise | Day 4

I apologize that I didn’t get this posted yesterday. 

Today I noticed how lovely it can be to care for living things. I was making the watering rounds so I knew every where I was supposed to water while Mom and Dad are gone later this month and at first I was impatient. I wanted to get on to other work and I sipped the hose from pot to pot. Then I realized I had to take my time cause the sudden burst or water was soaking some of the flowers leaving them a bedraggled mess. So I slowed down and suddenly, I began to notice things. The hot sun smiling down on my head, the contrast between the warm cement and the cold water on my toes, and the joyful heads of the flowers bobbing and smiling made me realize how very far off I was living. I moved back and forth between the flowers trying to give them the moisture they neede without drowning or attacking them and I had a thought. Perhaps all my work would be beautiful if I would slow down and live where I am.

One thought on “Writing Exercise | Day 4

  1. I stumbled upon your blog, Kristi, and am enjoying. You do have a way with words. And, yes, how much more beautiful our lives would seem if only we would notice and savor! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

